Yamaha Dominates 2018 IJSBA World Racing Finals

The top personal watercraft racers in the world went toe-to-toe in Lake Havasu City, AZ this weekend for the 37th running of the IJSBA World Finals, and Yamaha WaveRunner® racers dominated the championships winning eight world titles including the coveted Pro Runabout Stock title. Leading the Yamaha contingent was 24-time World Champion Chris MacClugage who finished third in Moto 1 and first in Moto 2 to win the Pro Runabout Stock world championship aboard a Broward Motorsports Monster Energy® Dean’s Team Yamaha GP1800R®. Yamaha swept the podium with fellow GP1800R riders Eric Francis finishing second, Aero Aswar finishing third. “We had a slow start, but in the end the surf came up and I was able to live up to my reputation. When I go to the line and conditions are rough, people expect me to do what I did,” said MacClugage, who has now won the class three years in a row.

In Pro Runabout Women’s action, Broward Motorsports Dean’s Team Yamaha GP1800R rider Sophie Francis wins her first professional title.

In Pro Runabout 1100 Superstock racing, Yamaha racer Eric Lagopoulos sank an armada of modified Sea-Doo® Sparks to win the championship on a Riva Racing VX WaveRunner. Congratulations to all the Yamaha WaveRunner racers who competed at the IJSBA World Finals this year, and special thanks to Broward Motorsports, Riva Racing, Dean’s Team, Kommander Industries, and to the families and friends who support personal watercraft racing.